And Christmas is over

Here in Japan, as soon as Christmas Day has arrived, the decorations come down and the music stops.  For anyone here knows that the “real” holiday is New Years.  I, being of a stubborn nature, leave the Christmas tree in place.  Not mentioning that I only put it up a few days ago.  Yes… I like New Years here in Tokyo; the quietness when so many leave to go to the homestead.  I like the traditions, and the time spent with dear husband’s family.  But in my heart, I am a Santa-loving girl, and with each passing year, I long to be in the cold, festive, wind-blowing comotion of Chicago during the holidays.

Mom returned to the U.S. today, and it is with sadness we part again.  I think, and hope, she had a good stay here with us.  I am grateful that Mom makes the trip.  She is my biggest supporter, now and always.  Thirteen years ago, when we were preparing for my wedding, as happy as I was, I knew life would change.  I know that my leaving the States broke her heart.  But she has never voiced that hurt.  She just smiles and tells me she loves me. 

So we had a great five and a half weeks together.  Including my dear daughter’s first piano recital.  I held my breath with each note.  I love this child more than anything or anyone.  She did great.  I am so proud of her. 

DD at the piano

DD at the piano

Then our weekend trip to Hiroshima. 

Hiroshima Dome

Hiroshima Dome

There are many worries for the coming year.  But I will choose to look ahead with hope, and with great appreciation for my blessings.

Happy Holidays to all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

